Rick's Running Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/ Fri, 24 Feb 2017 01:01:13 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sat, Feb 18, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-18-2017.html <p>First day feeling pretty normal! &nbsp;My hammys and my quads (less so) were really sore from yesterday&#39;s workout. &nbsp;Stretched and upper body exercises afterwards. &nbsp;</p> Sat, 18 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Fri, Feb 17, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-17-2017.html <p>Speed workout today and I got winded doing it (of course). &nbsp;I did hit the splits though. &nbsp;I&#39;m pretty tired from making up my homework last night and taking a test today. &nbsp;Weights in the afternoon. &nbsp;</p> Fri, 17 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Feb 16, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-16-2017.html <p>Again, got pretty winded running 7:15s. &nbsp;</p> Thu, 16 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 15, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-15-2017.html <p>First day back from sickness, got pretty winded running 7:30s for 30 minutes. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 15 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Tue, Feb 14, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-14-2017.html Tue, 14 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 13, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-13-2017.html <p>Food poisoning liquified my insides and kept me in bed. &nbsp;I droved to the store to get some more supplies and I felt like I was floating on a cloud which was pretty cool but pretty scary with lights.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 13 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Feb 12, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-12-2017.html <p>14 miles at ~5:58 a mile. &nbsp;Tired from the race but it wasn&#39;t that hard and I was careful not to overexert myself. &nbsp;Stretched afterwards, some upper body exercises. &nbsp;</p> Sun, 12 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Feb 11, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-11-2017.html <p>7:53.4 in the 3k. &nbsp;A little disappointed with the result. &nbsp;I was all over the place in the race too. &nbsp;I went out in 59, the 64s (but a lot of pushing and speeding up and slowing down), and then closed the last 800 in 2:01 ish. &nbsp;I got beat pretty handily (by my teammate), so my closing skills are lacking. &nbsp;I think I was pretty tuckered out from traveling. &nbsp;</p> Sat, 11 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Fri, Feb 10, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-10-2017.html <p>Pre meet. &nbsp;</p> Fri, 10 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Feb 09, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-09-2017.html <p>Ran slow and easy. &nbsp;My legs were a little tired but they felt pretty good in terms of mobility. &nbsp;</p> Thu, 09 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 08, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-08-2017.html <p>Ran kind of quick for an easy day and I felt pretty good. &nbsp;I did some exercises before the run and stretched afterwards. &nbsp;In the afternoon I ran a mile warm up and did some core and hip mobility stuff. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 08 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Tue, Feb 07, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-07-2017.html <p>Short, intense workout today. &nbsp;It was really easy until the last couple of reps.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 07 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 06, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-06-2017.html <p>Did a bunch of exercises before my run, stretching afterwards. &nbsp;I felt pretty good on the run considering the past 3 days. &nbsp;I did 2.5 miles in flats just to get the track motion in my legs and then switched over to trainers. &nbsp;</p> Mon, 06 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Feb 05, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-05-2017.html <p>LR just a little bit slower and shorter than usual. &nbsp;Definitely tired but it didn&#39;t feel that hard. &nbsp;I stretched immediately afterwards. &nbsp;I&#39;m going to keep doing that because I&#39;m more likely to do the full routine (if I start immediately afterwards&nbsp;and I think I get more out of it physically. &nbsp;</p> Sun, 05 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Feb 04, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-04-2017.html <p>Ran 1:51 today in the 8. &nbsp;Went out way too slow (56 mid I think),&nbsp;got a boxed and a little tripped up, got boxed again, but closed well the last 100 (swung wide to lane 4-5 off the turn) and finished 3rd. I think I closed the best out of everyone and I felt like I made up a ton of ground on the leaders the last 60.&nbsp;Good speed work, but definitely a frustrating couple of days. &nbsp;I&#39;m not assimilating the technique as quickly as I&#39;d hoped, and boy did it show up in the races this week. &nbsp;The good news is that I didn&#39;t injure myself, I&#39;m not sore (at all!), and I get the next couple of days to keep trying out the technique and training. &nbsp;I&#39;ll do an LR tomorrow, some hard core strides Monday, and a workout Tuesday. &nbsp;I&#39;m going to really put the hammer down in the 3k next Saturday. &nbsp;</p> Sat, 04 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Fri, Feb 03, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-03-2017.html <p>Ran 4:01.5; &nbsp;I led through 1300, got passed by one of my teammates and then made a late pass at the end. &nbsp;I didn&#39;t close as well as I&#39;d hoped and my hips and back got tight at the end. &nbsp;My technique tweaks showed up less, which I&#39;d expect because I didn&#39;t think about it. I think if I kept relaxed and got my hips under me I&#39;d feel less tight. &nbsp;Got the NCdub qualifier though so I&#39;m headed to indoor natties! &nbsp;Maybe I&#39;ll think about the technique more tomorrow in the 800. &nbsp;</p> Fri, 03 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Feb 02, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-02-2017.html <p>Pre meet. &nbsp;</p> Thu, 02 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 01, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-01-2017.html <p>I meant to run 8 but it just didn&#39;t happen. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 01 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 31, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-31-2017.html <p>Anaerobic speed workout in preparation for the meet Friday. &nbsp;Felt really good about the times and the level of control. &nbsp;I&#39;ve drank a lot of water the past couple days, and worked on flexibility and it really helped at the end of the workout. My arms and legs were tracking great. &nbsp;</p> Tue, 31 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Mon, Jan 30, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-30-2017.html <p>Did a lot of exercises to try to loosen up my upper body, which was tight today and yesterday. &nbsp;</p> Mon, 30 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Jan 29, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-29-2017.html <p>Long run. &nbsp;I felt really good at the start, faded in the middle and felt pretty tired towards the end. &nbsp;I don&#39;t think I overworked myself too much though, so good day. &nbsp;</p> Sun, 29 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Jan 28, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-28-2017.html Sat, 28 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Fri, Jan 27, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-27-2017.html Fri, 27 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Jan 26, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-26-2017.html Thu, 26 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 25, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-25-2017.html Wed, 25 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 24, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-24-2017.html <p>Did a tempo run today. &nbsp;Definitely harder than I would have liked. &nbsp;I think I ran too hard on Sunday. &nbsp;I also struggled holding the new technique the further the run went, while also trying to stay relaxed. &nbsp;I need to hydrate well, sleep well, and run smoothly tomorrow. &nbsp;</p> Tue, 24 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Mon, Jan 23, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-23-2017.html <p>8 miles easy. &nbsp;I&#39;m trying some new exercises and technique. &nbsp;It feels different and making parts of my body sore, but I think there&#39;s a good chance the tweaks will help me over time. &nbsp;Did 40 minutes of flexibility stuff before I ran, stretching afterward</p> Mon, 23 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Jan 22, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-22-2017.html <p>Good long run, got a little bit tired in a windy hill section. &nbsp;I still need to stretch out though, &nbsp;</p> Sun, 22 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Jan 21, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-21-2017.html <p>Should have run more, but I wasn&#39;t in the mood. &nbsp;I&#39;ll double or something tomorrow. &nbsp;</p> Sat, 21 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Fri, Jan 20, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-20-2017.html <p>Felt pretty good considering yesterday. &nbsp;I did nothing afterwards, in a rush to get to class. &nbsp;</p> Fri, 20 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Jan 19, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-19-2017.html <p>Time trial and workout after. &nbsp;I felt a little tired and tight and I really didn&#39;t close as easily as I&#39;d like. &nbsp;Nice to bust a little rust.&nbsp; I&#39;ll hydrate and rest up and really drop the hammer when I&#39;ve gotta run a mile. &nbsp;I did weights, stretching afterwards. &nbsp;</p> Thu, 19 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 18, 2017 http://ricksgiving.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-18-2017.html <p>Good run, pretty cold, a little tight. &nbsp;Didn&#39;t feel too tired from yesterday&#39;s workout. &nbsp;Stretching?</p> Wed, 18 Jan 2017 07:00:00